Morning becomes electra

Morning becomes Electra_002

When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.
Marcus Aurelius

The week was a bit rough, but it’s a new day as I reflect on the weekend’s happenings in my home away from home, SecondLife. The pic above was taken at my new home on Coastal Sound, Isle of Dreem. I absolutely love it here. It was time to find serenity and solitude again. I may not change out of my bikini for a while. There’s no place I really have to be anyway.

Breakfast at Theas_001
It’s not a tragedy, it’s only breakfast.

After a few months of “work” and “obligation” in-world I’m now back to my shiftless ways – haha! There was a graduation exhibit for Visionaire Institute, some work in exchange for exposure with TEOM (The Evolution of a Model) Magazine, and exhibition of one of my photos at Omagination Gallery‘s White Show for the month of January. Not a break-neck schedule at all, I won’t complain. It felt good to be involved and motivated to be part of the community. I always said I didn’t want to get a j-o-b here, because playing with my little avi-doll is just for fun, but I’m considering changing my attitude about that. I’m not terribly social – more like socially terrible – but getting involved in things gives me an excuse to put on my Ace-face and get out there. I’ve met some really interesting and wonderful people recently as a result and that, more than anything, makes me happy to keep coming back.

savemeohfurillen_001
The unflappable SaveMe Oh, performing at Furillen.

I think the highlight of the weekend, for me, was the opportunity to see a SaveMe Oh performance. She showed up and Serene Footman put out an impromptu call to come see the performance, and as luck would have it I was able to make it just in time to see the show begin. I’d heard of what she could do, and it might be that the negative statements I’ve read about her from various people intrigued me even more to see it for myself, but it seems like she doesn’t exactly keep a schedule and put out press releases ahead of time. When the message came I jumped! Such is the power of SaveMe Oh, able to make people react involuntarily, good and bad. I’ll say this for her – she is electrifying. I personally didn’t see any of the rude behavior attributed to her often; she simply did her thing and it was amazing. She can come burn down my house anytime. I’ll supply the marshmallows.

Island home_001
Speaking of which, here is the new home I purchased from Inverse. I originally got this island with the intention of building on an idea I had for something reminiscent of a DNA strand, a gallery of interconnected cells where I’d project photos on the inner walls rather than hang them, and a theatre for machinima, but instant gratification and homestead rules won out. I chose this one thinking that, with a few modifications, I could turn it into a gallery. That may or may not ever happen in the future. I’ll do whatever makes me happy and right now I’m happy to get sand between my toes. Hmmm, I wonder if I can find some sandy feet on the marketplace?

I know most SL blogs are business first, last and almost always, and as much as I’d like to attract a following you would think I would adopt that mindset and adjust my output accordingly, but I don’t think that’s going to happen in exactly that way. I am getting back to exploring and writing about the places I’ll visit, but on personal terms, as is my way. I’ll be working on photography, of course, but also finding opportunities to volunteer in causes that appeal to me and participating in events that give me a chance to grow in creativity and inter-personally, so if you like to read journals about personal experiences and inner exploration stay tuned.

I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that. – Lloyd Dobler, “Say Anything”

Yep, sort of like that.

Leave a Reply

