Committing to Creativity

Camp Caelin expanding
Camp Caelin is expanding!

This little travel blog hasn’t seen much travel lately, but I’ve been out and about, and I have pictures to prove it! That’s not what I’m focused on today, though. Today I’m tending a seed of a dream yet to be realized, looking at the potential in an almost 1/4 sim (16,288 sq. m. to be exact).

The parcel next to mine became available a few days ago, and I bit my lip all that time trying to decide if I really wanted it or not. I don’t know why, but it took me that long to decide $20 USD a week wasn’t going to break me. What really made me pull the trigger, though, was how inspiring it seemed. I was excited when I got the first lot, imagining all that I could make of it, but now I’ve got that nervous butterflies-in-the-stomach feeling with two lots! Haha! I know, such a noob thing to think.

I’ve got plans, though. Half-formed, hazy plans, but plans, I tell you!

Here you can see I’m in the midst of terraforming. I’m dropping the mountain range between the lots and pulling as much land out of the water as I can, to see what I’ve got to work with. Next, I’ll remove everything, house and all (that’s a pain in the arse!). Then, I think I’ll lay the forest floor down across the parcels and go from there. Where from there? Well …

Obviously it will be on a small scale, relatively speaking. It will be intimate, size-wise. It’s a jumping-off point. I really have to work to silence the voice of negativity in my head about this. “It’s too small. No one will be impressed. You don’t know what you’re doing. You’re just a wannabe.” Really, is it all that dramatic? No, not really.

It’s going to be fun, though. I’m going to be dreaming and scheming for weeks. I’m really looking forward to it.

As I said, the plans are hazy, but I know where my thoughts keep leading, and I’m trying to decide exactly how to style the ideas in my head. I can tell this much right now – it’s going to involve art. Can I be more vague? Probably, but here’s what I’m thinking. I want to create a destination for a small art collection, mainly images to begin with, but I also want to incorporate builds, and perhaps small objects d’art for exhibition. And here’s the scary part: I hope that some, most, maybe all will be my own creations. Scary because I’m not an artist. Scary because I don’t know the first thing about creating art in-world. Scary because the last time I made art was in the 6th grade. That was a lonnnnngggg time ago.

I’m imagining a forest of trees, and wild things, and in the midst of this, or scattered throughout, pieces that evoke a feeling of a … hippy commune? A naturalist in the wild, recreating what the inspiration of the forest provides? A feeling of zen and wonder? I don’t know, something like that. The ambient sound stream I have set on my land is very peaceful, with the sounds of nature, the music of birds and lapping water and pan flutes and accoustic guitars. That, and the surrounding mountains and water are directing my vision quite a bit. I want to appeal to the wanderer who seeks a place of peace and beauty and acceptance. I want it to be a place where all types will come to simply hang out, look around, enjoy the surroundings, and be inspired to create something themselves. I know, that’s pretty much every place in SecondLife, but this will be my contribution to the culture.

Yep, I got all that from a little piece of land. I’m ready to commit to it.

You might have heard that leading up to the SecondLife 12th Birthday celebration Xiola Linden posted in her blog a call for participants in a “What SecondLife Means To Me” video share project. That has been a source of inspiration and exasperation for me. I’ve made about 20 short video clips but haven’t produced a video because I couldn’t decide exactly what my SecondLife does mean to me. Two words kept jumping to the front of the idea-line: Inspiration and Opportunity. But how to present exactly what those concepts mean to me? I could show you all the wonderful places I’ve enjoyed so much, the art that inspires me, and the opportunities I’ve found that make me think I could do this. But that would just be other people’s places, art and expertise. What of that would be mine? A poorly made video? I couldn’t bring myself to do it.* I might just do it anyway, but it would pale in comparison to others I’ve seen. See, there’s that negative nag in my head again.

This piece of land, though, is begging me to do something, anything … just do it! Just do it, and don’t question it, and don’t doubt yourself, it says. Just try, and I promise you’ll be so happy you did, so happy you’ll want to try more, and more, it says. For crying out loud, just drop a prim! It screams. Do some research, take a class, play with the build tools and make something happen, it whispers.

If you build it, they will come.

Really? I don’t know …

So there you go. That’s how it starts, I suppose. I think what my SecondLife means to me is the courage to stretch the sinews of imagination and create something that represents the struggle inside of me to overcome self-doubt, stagnant creativity, and years of all work and very little play, to let something out that is right now very small and weak and afraid so that it can grow big and strong and brave. “LOL!!” the voice mocks. Well, we’ll just see, won’t we?

Pic - contemplating the future
Just as a side note, it’s my opinion that The Mesh Project (Deluxe Head in Fierce, with Sinful Curves Donna Medium TMP Head Installer) has the most beautifully flawless skin I’ve seen yet. For looks, my favorite of the mesh avis.

*I went ahead and did it.

2 thoughts on “Committing to Creativity

  1. Your Inspiration over the new land acquisition is great. reading your dreams and hopes with it and your video itself is inspiring ty for sharing! Cant wait to see what you do : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

